Designer Wren Britton revels in creating one-of-a-kind “Post Apocalyptic Victorian accessories” and “clothing for Time-Traveling Dandies and Femme Fatales of all ages {and genders!!!} and all those in-between.” Both the gentleman and his wares exude a winsome air of elegance, playfulness, and feral sensuality. Ooo la la! (via Coilhouse » Blog Archive » Wren Britton and PUREVILE Are Coming to San Francisco!)
Mon, 28th May — 31 notes
(via Art Splash: Margaret Kilgallen - Summer / Selections - Ratio 3 - San Francisco)
Fri, 25th May — 12 notes
unnaturalist:

by Claire Moynihan
Wed, 23rd May — 100 notes
string  Aug 2010  (by joannebk)
Tue, 15th May — 10 notes

Sat, 12th May — 428 notes
Andrew Wyeth ‘Wind from the Sea’ 1947. Tempera on hardboard (by Plum leaves)
Thu, 12th Apr — 82 notes
(via Mari Andrews)
Tue, 21st Feb — 3 notes
(via Mari Andrews)
Mon, 20th Feb — 3 notes
"Band-Aid Bear" (by jbl thistle)
Thu, 9th Feb — 39 notes
Women’s underwear served two purposes in the 18th century. The first function, carried out by the shift or smock, was to protect the clothing from the body, in an age when daily bathing was not customary. Made of very fine linen, the shift was the first garment put on when dressing. Over the shift went the linen stays, heavily reinforced with strips of whalebone. Their purpose was to mould the torso to the fashionable shape and provide a rigid form on which the gown could be arranged and fastened. The hoops were also made of linen and stiffened with whalebone or cane. They shaped the petticoat of the gown to the appropriate silhouette. At various times during the 18th century, this profile varied from round, to square and flat, to fan-shaped.
 (via Side hoop - Victoria & Albert Museum - Search the Collections)
Thu, 9th Feb — 6 notes
(via amanda briggs at dear ada: daintytime.)
Tue, 7th Feb — 18 notes
(via amanda briggs at dear ada: daintytime.)
Tue, 7th Feb — 40 notes
(via amanda briggs at dear ada: daintytime.)
Tue, 7th Feb — 4 notes
onwardthroughtheramparts:

Nick Cave by McCollCenterNC on Flickr.
Sat, 28th Jan — 269 notes
(via lovely linen | the style files)
Thu, 26th Jan — 30 notes